Looking Forward

 

Fellow Californians,

First let me start off by saying what an honor it has been to serve as your Senator these past six years. You trusted me with the sacred duty to represent you in Washington D.C. and it is a trust I have not taken for granted.

With your support I have made great progress over the last six years. You asked me to address climate change, and I did. You asked me to find ways to improve our health care system, and I did. You asked me to help reform our education system, and I did. You even asked me to stand up to some of the most powerful lobbies in Washington such as big oil and the military industrial complex, and I did.

I want to talk to you about my vision for the future. We’ve made so much progress, however there is still so much more we can accomplish. We need to continue to protect our environment from harmful emissions. My renewable energy legislation was a great start, but we still need more reforms. If you send me back to the Senate, I will continue to make environmental legislation and clean energy my top priority.

There will be many controversial issues to tackle in the years ahead and we need honest, open-minded and effective leaders to solve them. As an Independent, I have a proven track record of bipartisanship and compromise. My loyalty is not to either of the political parties, but to you, the good people of California. I can help usher in a new era of bipartisanship in Washington. My leadership as chairman of the Energy Committee and cooperation with members of both parties exhibits this.

If you share a vision of a healthy environment, clean energy network, strong education system and state-of-the-art health care for all, then I ask for your support. Send me back to Washington to build on all of the great things we’ve already accomplished.

Humbly yours,

signature

Leave a Reply

