About Joseph

I was raised in the coastal town of Encinitas, just north of San Diego. I attended the University of California, Berkeley and graduated with a degree in Political Science.

I went on study at the University of Southern California Gould School of Law. After I completed my law studies, I joined the District Attorney’s Office in San Diego. After a decade serving as a prosecutor, I was appointed by President George W. Bush to be the United States Attorney for the Southern District of California.

As U.S. Attorney I began my crusade to protect our environment. I worked with then-Governor Schwarzenegger to prosecute violators of our new environmental protection laws. I also fought against drug cartels and worked tirelessly to keep our border safe.

Six years ago, I was asked to run for Senate as an Independent by colleagues from both sides of the aisle who were fed up with partisan gridlock in Washington. Thanks to the great people of California we were able to make history. Being your Senator has been the greatest honor of my life and I hope to continue to serve you.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

